What's New? Civilian News!

The Zachary and Elizabeth Fisher
Distinguished Civilian Humanitarian Service Award

image of the bronze medal

In 1996, the Secretaries of the Army, Navy, and the Air Force approved the establishment of the Zachary and Elizabeth Award for Distinguished Civilian Humanitarian Service.

The award was named in honor of Zachary and Elizabeth Fisher, both of whom had contributed extensively to the support and welfare of members of the U. S. Armed Forces and their families. The inaugural Zachary and Elizabeth Fisher Distinguished Civilian Humanitarian Award was presented to the Fishers at the Army-Navy football game in December, 1996.

The Army, acting as executive agent, published a joint service regulation in 1998, establishing the award as a multi-service recognition to be given to an individual or organization demonstrating exceptional patriotism and humanitarian concern for members of the Armed Forces or their families. The recipient must exemplify Zachary and Elizabeth Fisher's personal qualities of patriotism, generosity, and selfless dedication to improving the quality of life of members of the Armed Forces of the United States.

The Zachary and Elizabeth Fisher Distinguished Humanitarian Award consists of a large commemorative trophy with the annual recipient's name engraved on brass plates. This trophy remains on display in the Pentagon and is removed only for the annual presentation ceremony. Medallions and lapel pins are presented to each annual recipient.

Previous recipients of the Zachary and Elizabeth Fisher Distinguished Humanitarian Service Award have been as follows:

  • Dr. John Schupp 2009
  • Iraq Afghanistan Deployment Impact Fund (Nancy Berglass) 2008
  • Julie DeMaria 2007
  • GySgt. Mario Monaco, Jr., USMC Reserves, Retired 2006
  • Harry and Sharon Rideout 2005
  • Blanche Glymph 2004
  • Mrs. Dorothy Hunt Finley 2003
  • Frank J. Uddo 2002
  • Military Affairs Committee, Great Falls (MT) Chamber of Commerce 2001
  • Harold U. Littrell 2000
  • Secretary of Defense William S. Cohen Special
  • Janet Langhart Cohen Special
  • David W. Hearn, Jr. 1999
  • Christina McCall 1998
  • Zachary and Elizabeth M. Fisher 1996

This Year the Army has the Lead in coordinating and executing this award ceremony, specifically, AG-1 CP events Coordinator, Mr. Juan Rodriguez and the Program Support Division Team. The ceremony will take place at the Pentagon Auditorium on 26 September 2011 at 1400 hours hosted by the Secretary of the Army.

Return to Army Civilian Homepage